Facebook users urged to review their security as the app bids farewell to its ‘trusted contacts’ feature / Digital Information World

Facebook will remove the Trusted Contacts feature very soon and the news has many avid users of the app worried.

For those who may not know, this feature of Facebook lets you select friends or close acquaintances that you blindly trust. Therefore, in the event that your account is locked or you lose full access to your account, you can use their help to get back to where you left off.

All you had to do was switch to the Settings tab and just below the Account tab you could enter your password and security. And that’s where you were asked to name three to five of your best friends who would be contacted, in case you lost your account.

But with the feature dropping soon, many users are thinking about what’s next. How can they select friends who help them reconnect to the app?

To start, you can always update some of your information in the account settings tab. Make sure your email, as well as your phone number, is updated regularly on the app. Similarly, Facebook also provides regular updates on how users can secure their accounts. You might want to check this one out as well, just in case.

Read next: Meta releases new privacy policy with more clarity on its data practices

Lance B. Holton